Introduction


The subclass Copepoda is represented in the marine plankton by free forms belonging to eight out of the nine orders of this group of Crustacea (Boxshall & Halsey, 2004): Platycopioida, Calanoida, Mormonilloida, Misophrioida, Hapacticoida, Cyclopoida, Siphonostomatoida, Monstrilloida. Add Poecilostomatoida which can no longer be considered as a group phylogenetically separated from Cyclopoida, and the controversial Thaumatopsylloida which are rejected by the above mentioned taxonomists. The order of Gelyelloida is defined from species in subterranean karstic systems.

In spite of the vastness of the volume of the seas and oceans, the number of free marine planktonic species of Copepoda is relatively modest (approximately 2500 forms known to date) compared with that of the parasitic or benthic forms. The total number of species of Copepoda, free and parasitic, is probably underestimated with about 11500 (Bowman & Abele, 1982, Humes, 1994). The number of individuals is virtually incalculable; it constitutes the greatest part of the metazoans of our planet (perhaps except the nematodes).

The role of the free Copepoda in the pelagic ecosystem is essential from a trophic point of view, as a link between the primary production and the larvae and juveniles of fishes and perhaps cephalopods. They characterize the secondary production of the sea. The specific composition and the biological cycles of the species are essential factors to determine in the course of time. The species form important indicators for the different water masses, being directly related to the characteristics and dynamics of these.

The majority of the marine environment has been sampled, however unequally if one refers to the oceanic provinces, as well as in the bathyal and abyssal regions of the oceans and the underwater caves.

The aim of this work is to offer a synthesis of our current knowledge on the diversity of the forms and their geographical distribution, to define greater biogeographic entities, and to look for the mechanisms of dispersion or isolation.
This database has the ambition to be useful, in fine, for an overall treatment in order to define great biogeographic entities and to seek the mechanisms of dispersion or insulation.
Sewell (1948, 1956) showed the way to be followed in the interpretation of the geographical observations of the species. The marine planktonic organisms depend primarily on the major oceanic surface and deep currents, as well as on their preferential bathymetric localities (Murray & Hjort, 1912; Raymont, 1983), with their more or less important capacity for circadian and/or ontogenetic migrations adding further complication.

Age of the group, which is presumably post-Precambrian (Sharov, 1966; Boxshall, 1983, Huys & Boxshall, 1991), and our ignorance about the evolution of the Copepoda and of the chronology of appearance of the genera (for lack of fossils), impede any interpretation in relation to the continental drift.
More recently Van der Spoel & Heyman (1983), by taking into account various zooplanktonic forms, redefined large biogeographic provinces.

The ecophysiology of the species is generally insufficiently known or not very exploitable to understand their localities. On the other hand Brodsky & al, 1972 (in Zvereva, 1972, editor) showed the importance of the functional ecomorphology to explain, for example, the geographical distribution of Calanidae.

One of the difficulties encountered in trying to draw up the cartography of the species comes from often too incomplete or insufficiently illustrated species descriptions, sometimes involving complex synonymies. A literature difficult to pull together and the absence of a world fauna, which should take into account the natural dispersion of the pelagic species, increase the difficulties of identification. This last problem has been considerably improved thanks to the publications from Bradford-Grieve (1994, 1999) and Boxshall & Halsey (2004) (see faunas preceded by * at the end of the chapter).

The study of structural variability and the biometric approach of the species within the populations are rarely considered (Brodsky, 1965; Frost & Fleminger, 1968).

The study of the epicuticular structures developed by Fleminger (1973), Vaupel Klein (1982), Mauchline (1988), or those of the isoenzymes or ARNm (Sévigny & Al, 1989; Cervelli & Al, 1995; Bucklin & Marcus, 1985; Bucklin & Al, 1989, 1995, 1996; Bucklin & Kocher, 1996; Kann & Wishner, 1996), can only be associated with a macroscopic initial identification.

Many systematic inventories, resulting from ecological works, are sometimes of doubtful value, whatever the sophisticated mathematical treatment, associated with them. To realise this it is sufficient to consult the bibliographical references, very few of which mention faunas or morphological documents used, and the respective sex of the animals is generally not specified. Moreover the practice of subsampling for countings overemphasizes the most abundant species at the expense of the rarer forms which are interesting from a geographical point of view.

Finally the type of mesh-size of the nets, like the sampling method, introduce considerable bias. More significant is undoubtedly the "moment" of sampling compared to the biological cycle of the species.

In addition to the test of synthesis of Sewell, we point out the geographical localities and the frequency of the pelagic species of the Copepoda, thanks to various marine records of importance, in the form of "regional" faunas ( * in  Références ), of more or less extended zones, like the North Atlantic and the North Sea prospected during many years using the "Continuous Plankton Recorder" (Colebrook, 1975), or geographical points related to the presence of marine laboratories, some of which are more than one hundred twenty years old, and more exceptionally of fixed stations off shore ( see  List of the studied authors ).

A general and biogeographic systematic inventory can, to a certain extent, provide useful indications at the time of the identifications, or at least draw attention to the species.
Let us underline the particular cases of endemism observed in geographical places that are sometimes extremely distant and the role of anthropogenic transport (Carlton & Geller, 1993).

This inventory treats all the species listed starting from the work of Giesbrecht (1892 [actually "1893"], after Holthuis & Vervoort, 2006) up to 2013/2014. It is based on the analysis of more than six thousand publications, either of a purely systematic nature, or dealing with ecology. It cannot be regarded as exhaustive, nor safe from errors or lapses of memory, but the consulted publications correspond to a world "sampling" ( the authors and the prospected zones are quoted in the appendix :   List of the studied authors ). In the case of certain species the critical analysis starting from the literature does not make it possible to be sure about their validity or their synonymy; these cases are indicated in the remarks for each one of them.

 

 

 Faunas and References

 Any use of this site for a publication will be mentioned with the following reference :

Razouls C., de Bovée F., Kouwenberg J. et Desreumaux N., 2005-2017. - Diversity and Geographic Distribution of Marine Planktonic Copepods. Available at http://copepodes.obs-banyuls.fr/en 
[Accessed November 23, 2017]

© copyright 2005-2017 CNRS, UPMC

Webmaster
CNRS   Observatoire Océanologique de Banyuls sur Mer - Laboratoire Arago
UPMC - Paris Universitas

 

Version française
English version

 

Search

On the WEB of CNRS

 


Marine Planktonic Copepods

Marine Planktonic Copepods

 

Imprimer Contact Accueil Plan du site Accès restreint Retour Une du Labo Imprimer Contact Plan du site Crédits Téléchargez les Plug-Ins

Introduction


La sous-classe des Copépodes est représentée dans le plancton marin par des formes libres appartenant à huit des neuf ordres que comprend ce groupe de crustacés (Huys & Boxshall, 1991; Boxshall & Halsey, 2004): Platycopioida, Calanoida, Mormonilloida, Misophrioida, Harpacticoida, Cyclopoida, Siphonostomatoida, Monstrilloida.. Les Poecilostomatoida ne pouvant plus être considéré comme un groupe phylogénétiquement séparé des Cyclopoida et les Thaumatopsylloida non admis par les phylotaxinomistes précités. L'ordre des Gelyelloida est défini à partir d'espèces sous-terraines des systèmes karstiques.

Malgré l'immensité du volume des mers le nombre des espèces de copépodes planctoniques marins est relativement faible (environ 2500 formes connues à ce jour) comparé à celui des formes parasites ou benthiques. L'ensemble de toutes les espèces de copépodes, libres et parasites, représente un total, sans doute sous-évalué, proche de 11500 (Bowman & Abele,1982, Humes, 1994). Le nombre d'individus est à l'opposé quasiment incalculable, et constitue la plus grande part des métazoaires de la planète (supplanté peut-être par les nématodes).

Le rôle des copépodes libres dans l'écosystème pélagique est essentiel du point de vue trophique comme intermédiaire entre la production primaire et les larves et formes juvéniles des poissons et céphalopodes. Ils caractérisent de ce fait la production secondaire des aires marines. La composition spécifique et les cycles biologiques des espèces sont des facteurs essentiels à déterminer au cours du temps. Les espèces, liées aux caractéristiques des masses d'eau, constiuent des indicateurs précieux de celles-ci.

La plupart des aires marines ont été échantillonnées, bien qu'inégalement si l'on se réfère aux provinces océaniques, comme aussi dans les zones bathyales et abyssales des océans.

Le but de ce travail est de tenter une synthèse des connaissances actuelles sur la diversité des formes et de leur répartition géographique.
Cette base de données a l'ambition de servir, in fine, à un traitement d'ensemble afin de définir de grandes entités biogéographiques et de rechercher les mécanismes de dispersion ou d'isolement.
Sewell (1948, 1956) a montré la voie à suivre dans l'interprétation des observations géographiques des espèces. Les organismes planctoniques marins dépendent essentiellement des grands courants océaniques superficiels et profonds, ainsi que de leur localisation bathymétrique préférentielle (Murray & Hjort, 1912; Raymont, 1983), que vient compliquer leur plus ou moins grande aptitude à des migrations circadiennes et/ou ontogéniques.

L'ancienneté du groupe supposée post-précambrienne (Sharov, 1966; Boxshall, 1983, Huys & Boxshall, 1991) et la méconnaissance que nous avons de l'évolution des copépodes et de la chronologie d'apparition des genres (faute de fossiles), rendent difficiles toute interprétation en relation avec la dérive des continents.
Plus récemment Van der Spoel & Heyman (1983), en prenant en considération diverses formes zooplanctoniques, ont redéfini de grandes provinces biogéographiques.

L'écophysiologie des espèces est généralement insuffisamment connue ou peu exploitable pour comprendre leurs localisations. En revanche Brodsky & al.,1972 (in edit. Zvereva, 1972) ont montré l'importance de l'écomorphologie fonctionnelle pour expliquer par exemple la répartition géographique des Calanidae.

L'une des difficultés rencontrées afin de dresser la cartographie des espèces provient des descriptions souvent sommaires à l'origine ou insuffisamment figurées de celles-ci, entraînant des synonymies parfois complexes. Une littérature difficile à réunir et l'absence de faune mondiale, pourtant indispensable compte-tenu de la dispersion naturelle des espèces pélagiques, accroissent les difficultés d'identification. Grâce aux publications de Bradford-Grieve (1994, 1999) et Boxshall & Halsey (2004) une amélioration est notable (voir faunes précédées par * en fin de chapitre).

L'étude de la variabilité structurelle et l'approche biométrique des espèces au sein des populations sont rarement envisagées (Brodsky, 1965; Frost & Fleminger, 1968).

L' étude des structures épicuticulaires développée par Fleminger (1973), Vaupel Klein (1982), Mauchline (1988), ou celles des isoenzymes ou des ARN m (Sévigny & al., 1989; Cervelli & al., 1995; Bucklin & Marcus, 1985; Bucklin & al., 1989, 1995, 1996; Bucklin & Kocher, 1996; Kann & Wishner, 1996), ne peuvent qu'être associées à une identification initiale macroscopique.

Les inventaires systématiques fort nombreux, issus de travaux écologiques, sont parfois sujets à caution quel que soit le traitement mathématique sophistiqué qui leur est associé. Il suffit pour s'en convaincre de consulter les références bibliographiques dont fort peu font mention des faunes ou documents morphologiques utilisés et les sexes des animaux le plus souvent non précisés. De plus la pratique du fractionnement de la pêche en vue des comptages valorise les espèces les plus abondantes au détriment des formes plus rares mais intéressantes du point de vue géographique, comme des stades juvéniles.

Enfin le type d'engin (notamment le vide de mailles des filets), comme le mode de récolte utilisés introduisent des biais non négligeables. Plus important est sans doute le "moment" des prélèvements eu égard au cycle biologique des espèces. biologique des espèces.

Outre l'essai de synthèse de Sewell, nous disposons des localisations géographiques et de la fréquence des espèces de copépodes pélagiques , grâce à diverses expéditions marines d'importance, sous la forme de faunes "régionales" ( * in  Références ), de régions plus ou moins étendues, comme l'Atlantique nord et la Mer du Nord prospectés durant des années à l'aide du " Continuous Plankton Recorder " (Colebrook, 1975), ou de points géographiques liés à la présence de laboratoires marins datant pour certains de plus de cent vingt ans , et plus exceptionnellement de stations fixes au large ( voir  Liste des auteurs analysés ).

Un inventaire systématique général et zoogéographique peut, dans une certaine mesure, fournir des indications utiles lors des déterminations, ou du moins attirer l'attention sur des cas litigieux.
Soulignons le cas d'espèces endémiques observées dans des lieux géographiques parfois fort éloignés et le rôle des transports anthropiques (Carlton & Geller, 1993).

Cet essai traite de la totalité des espèces recensées à partir de l'ouvrage de Giesbrecht (1892 [en réalité "1893"], d'après Holthuis & Vervoort, 2006) jusqu'à 2013/2014. Il est fondé sur l'analyse de plus de six mille publications, soit d'ordre purement systématique, soit d'écologie. Il ne peut être considéré comme exhaustif, ni à l'abri d'erreurs ou d'oublis, mais les articles consultés correspondent à un "échantillonnage" mondial ( les auteurs et les régions prospectées sont cités en annexe:  Liste des auteurs analysés ). Dans le cas de certaines espèces l'analyse critique à partir de la littérature ne permet pas d'être assuré de leur validité ou de leur synonymie; ces cas sont indiqués en remarque pour chacune d'elles.

 

 

 Faunes et Références

 Toute utilisation de ce site pour une publication sera mentionnée avec la référence suivante :

Razouls C., de Bovée F., Kouwenberg J. et Desreumaux N., 2005-2017. - Diversité et répartition géographique chez les Copépodes planctoniques marins. Disponible sur http://copepodes.obs-banyuls.fr 
[Accédé le 28 mai 2017]

© copyright 2005-2017 CNRS, UPMC

Webmaster
Mentions légales et informations nominatives
CNRS   Observatoire Océanologique de Banyuls sur Mer - Laboratoire Arago
UPMC - Paris Universitas

 

Version française
English version

 

Rechercher

Sur le WEB du CNRS

 


Copépodes planctoniques marins

Copépodes planctoniques marins

 

Imprimer Contact Accueil Plan du site Accès restreint Retour Une du Labo Imprimer Contact Plan du site Crédits Téléchargez les Plug-Ins