Geographic Distribution of Pelagic Copepods in the Mediterranean > Introduction
 
   


 

Introduction :

The knowledge we have on the identification of species in the Mediterranean is old (Giesbrecht, 1892; Giesbrecht & Schmeil, 1898). Thereafter Sars (1925) and Rose (1924-1954) complete information on the Mediterranean west side and the near Atlantic. More than 500 publications have been consulted on the Mediterranean on a total of 9059 for all global data that provide information on the biogeography of species.

With the increase in regional ecology work, and a fortiori digital ecology, the validity of fauna lists is not always sure at least for some reported species. For Böttger-Schnack (1999) forms without figures or characteristics morphological data specifying the validity of the species, are questionable. More serious is often the absence, by many authors, of bibliographic references on works and more recent changes behalf of taxonomists. We have of course taken into account when elaborating this work. It is obvious that no attempt at geographical synthesis would be possible without a minimum of confidence, and caution when using analysed publications. As Goetze & Bradford-Grieve (2005) indicate, genetic and morphological joint analysis of poorly differentiated species shows that some anatomical details appear when attention is drawn on controversial cases. Inversely, low genetic and morphological differences like between Calanus helgolandicus and C. euxinus (Unal & al. (2003, p.157, In : 3 rd International Zooplankton Production Symposium, 20-23 May, Gijon, Spain) maybe call into question the existence of their separation, until intercrossing tests have been carried out.

The knowledge of species' descriptive works, and their possible patches, require regular monitoring because of inter-oceanic exchanges and the specificity of pelagos. The mastery of world literature in this field is not easy but necessary.

Another difficulty also comes from the disparity between regions. Some have been more exploited than others, often close to major marine laboratories, or during shipment linked to a particular environmental theme. The modes of samples and the meshes sizes used are often very different from one author to another, generally valuing calanoids compared to podopleans (notably Oithonidae and Oncaeidae).

Finally, changes in the composition of copepods' populations have occurred either on a geological scale, or more recently, for example in the Gulf of Lion (Kouwenberg & Razouls, 1990), in Lebanese waters (Lakkis, 1990), in the NE Atlantic (Planque, 1996; Beare & al., 2002; Beaugrand & al., 2002), the North Sea (Corten, 1999), as in the NE Atlantic (Johns & al, 2001) and the north-east Pacific in British Columbia (Mackas & al., 2001).

The anthropogenic effects are now well known, like for examples in the bays of Toulon (Jamet & al., 2001), and Sevastopol (Gubanova & al., 2001), transports in ships' ballast that essentially concern brackish species (Orsi & Walter, 1991; Orsi & Ohtsuka, 1999; Sutherland & al., 2001) or presenting eggs in diapause or latency (like among Acartiidae, Centropagidae, Pontellidae), exchanges of aquaculture products.

A zoogeographic analysis of pelagic forms in the various Mediterranean basins was established by Furnestin (1979). The author shows the specificity of these for both hydrological and biological data. The circulation of surface and intermediary water is a broadly well known (Bethoux & Gentili, 1996; Bethoux & Gentili, 1999; Bethoux & al., 1999) and can only tend to a dispersion of planktonic forms to all Mediterranean, to the extent of the populations' adaptation to new hydro-biological conditions that they face. The climatic variations, changing over time in accordance with cycles bad determined yet, modify the structure of the ecosystem. These modifications in the case of pelagic copepods are difficult to apprehend unlike the benthic and ichtyological fauna (Laubier & al., 2003; Ben Souissi & al., 2004). Regardless well known species in the various Mediterranean regions that dominate in sub-sampling (Gaudy, 1985), a review of the fishery as a whole remains indispensable from the viewpoint of the zoogeography, of detection of indicator species as of the genetic variability of the species due to their dispersal because of pelagos.

The inventory is based on published data (Razouls, 1995, 1996; Razouls & De Bovée, 1998), updated until 2013/2014.

   

 Any use of this site for a publication will be mentioned with the following reference :

Razouls C., de Bovée F., Kouwenberg J. et Desreumaux N., 2005-2017. - Diversity and Geographic Distribution of Marine Planktonic Copepods. Available at http://copepodes.obs-banyuls.fr/en 
[Accessed November 18, 2017]

© copyright 2005-2017 CNRS, UPMC

Webmaster
Imprimer Contact Accueil Plan du site Accès restreint Retour
CNRS   Observatoire Océanologique de Banyuls sur Mer - Laboratoire Arago
UPMC - Paris Universitas

 

Version française
English version

 

Search

On the WEB of CNRS


Marine Planktonic Copepods

Marine Planktonic Copepods

 

Une du Labo Imprimer Contact Plan du site Crédits Téléchargez les Plug-Ins

Distribution géographique des copépodes pélagiques en Méditerranée > Introduction
 
   


 

Introduction :

La connaissance que nous avons sur l'identification des espèces en Méditerranée est ancienne (Giesbrecht, 1892; Giesbrecht & Schmeil, 1898). Par la suite Sars (1925) et Rose (1924-1954) complètent les informations concernant la partie ouest méditerranéenne et le proche Atlantique. Plus de 500 publications ont été consultées concernant la Méditerranée sur un total de 9042 pour l'ensemble des données mondiales qui apportent des informations sur la biogéographie des espèces.

Avec l'accroissement des travaux d'écologie régionale, et a fortiori d'écologie numérique, la validité des listes faunistiques n'est pas toujours sûre du moins pour certaines espèces signalées. Pour Böttger-Schnack (1999) les formes non accompagnées de figures ou de données morphologiques caractéristiques précisant la validité de l'espèce, sont sujettes à caution. Plus grave est souvent l'absence, par de nombreux auteurs, des références bibliographiques concernant les travaux et modifications plus récentes de la part des taxinomistes. Nous en avons naturellement tenu compte lors de l'élaboration de ce travail. Il est évident qu'aucune tentative de synthèse géographique ne serait possible sans un minimum de confiance, et de circonspection lors de l'usage des publications analysées. Comme l'indiquent Goetze & Bradford-Grieve (2005), l'analyse conjointe génétique et morphologique d'espèces mal différenciées montre que certains détails anatomiques apparaissent lorsque l'attention est attiré sur les cas litigieux. Inversement, des différences morphologiques et génétiques faibles comme entre Calanus helgolandicus et C. euxinus (Unal & al. (2003, p.157, In : 3 rd International Zooplankton Production Symposium, 20-23 May, Gijon, Spain) remettent peut-être en cause l'existence de leur séparation, jusqu'à ce que des essais d'intercroisement aient été réalisées.

La connaissance des travaux descriptifs des espèces, comme leurs correctifs éventuels, imposent un suivi régulier du fait des échanges inter-océaniques et de la spécificité du pelagos. La maîtrise de la littérature mondiale dans ce domaine n'est pas aisée mais indispensable.

Une autre difficulté provient également de la disparité entre régions. Certaines ont été plus exploitées que d'autres, souvent proches des grands laboratoires marins, ou lors d'expéditions liées à une thématique environnementale particulière. Les modes de prélèvements, comme les vides des mailles utilisées sont souvent très différents d'un auteur à l'autre, valorisant généralement les calanoïdes par rapport aux podopléens (notamment les Oithonidae et Oncaeidae).

Enfin, des changements dans la composition des populations de copépodes ont eu cours soit à l'échelle géologique, soit plus recemment, par exemple dans le Golfe du Lion (Kouwenberg & Razouls, 1990), dans les eaux libanaises (Lakkis, 1990), dans l'Atlantique NE (Planque, 1996; Beare & al., 2002; Beaugrand & al., 2002), la Mer du Nord (Corten, 1999), comme dans l'Atlantique NE (Johns & al, 2001) et le Pacifique nord-est en Colombie Britannique (Mackas & al., 2001).

Les effets anthropiques sont maintenant bien connus, comme par exemples dans les baies de Toulon (Jamet & al., 2001), et de Sébastopol (Gubanova & al., 2001), les transports dans les ballasts des navires qui concernent essentiellement des espèces saumâtres (Orsi & Walter, 1991; Orsi & Ohtsuka, 1999; Sutherland & al., 2001) ou présentant des oeufs en diapause ou latence (comme par exemple chez les Acartiidae, Centropagidae, Pontellidae), les échanges de produits de l'aquaculture.

Une analyse zoogéographique des formes pélagiques dans les divers bassins méditerranéens a été établie par Furnestin (1979). Cet auteur montre la spécificité de ceux-ci aussi bien pour les données hydrologiques que biologiques. La circulation des eaux superficielles et intermédiaires est dans ses grandes lignes bien connue (Bethoux & Gentili, 1996; Bethoux & Gentili, 1999; Bethoux & al., 1999 ) et ne peut que tendre à une dispersion des formes planctoniques à l'ensemble de la Méditerranée, dans la mesure de l'adaptation des populations aux nouvelles conditions hydro-biologiques qu'elles y rencontrent. Les variations climatiques, changeantes dans le temps selon des cycles encore mal déterminés, modifient la structure de l'écosystème. Ces modifications dans le cas des copépodes pélagiques sont difficiles à appréhender contrairement à la faune benthique et ichtyologique (Laubier & al., 2003; Ben Souissi & al., 2004). Indépendamment des espèces bien connues dans les diverses régions méditerranéennes et qui dominent dans les sous-échantillonnages (Gaudy, 1985), un examen de la pêche dans son ensemble demeure indispensable du point de vue de la zoogéographie, de la détection d'espèces indicatrices comme de la variabilité génétique des espèces due à leur dispersion du fait même du pélagos.

L'inventaire réalisé s'appuie sur les données publiées (Razouls, 1995, 1996; Razouls & De Bovée, 1998), réactualisées jusqu'en 2013/2014.

   

 Toute utilisation de ce site pour une publication sera mentionnée avec la référence suivante :

Razouls C., de Bovée F., Kouwenberg J. et Desreumaux N., 2005-2017. - Diversité et répartition géographique chez les Copépodes planctoniques marins. Disponible sur http://copepodes.obs-banyuls.fr 
[Accédé le 22 septembre 2017]

© copyright 2005-2017 CNRS, UPMC

Webmaster
Mentions légales et informations nominatives
Imprimer Contact Accueil Plan du site Accès restreint Retour
CNRS   Observatoire Océanologique de Banyuls sur Mer - Laboratoire Arago
UPMC - Paris Universitas

 

Version française
English version

 

Rechercher

Sur le WEB du CNRS


Copépodes planctoniques marins

Copépodes planctoniques marins

 

Une du Labo Imprimer Contact Plan du site Crédits Téléchargez les Plug-Ins