Geographic Distribution of Pelagic Copepods in the Mediterranean > Remarks
 
   


 

Remarks :

1 - Various species reported in the Mediterranean were not taken into account and require confirmation: Acartia (Odontacartia) laxa Dana,1849 (very doubtful form) reported in Malta. Pseudocalanus minutus (Kröyer,1845), form of boreal arctic and subarctic waters of the Atlantic and Pacific oceans, reported by Salah (1971, p.319) in Alexandria. Aetideus mediterraneus Steuer, 1910 described in the Adriatic (Dubrovnik) is regarded as a synonym for Aetideus giesbrechti (Hure et Krsinic,1998, p.46). Calanus finmarchicus reported by Sars (1925, p.369) in Tyrrhenian Sea, by Rose (1929, p.6), puis then in Catalan Sea (Furnestin and Giron-Reguer, 1961; Furnestin and Giron, 1963), as in the Gulf of Lion (Furnestin, 1960), subsequently confirmed as exceptional in the south-western basin (Soenen, 1969). Similarly, and more surprising is report of Calanus propinquus in Malta by Thompson.(1888d, p.139). Gaidius pungens Giesbrecht,1895 erroneously identified in the Mediterranean in Razouls et Durand, 1991. Centropages aucklandicus Krämer,1895, often quoted in the Mediterranean, is only a variant of C. typicus and the form originally described by Krämer would be endemic to New Zealand (in Bradford, 1978). Lucicutia grandis (Giesbrecht,1895) reported in Tyrrhenian Sea (in Kovalev and Shmeleva, 1982) is not retained because of possible confusions.

Labidocera kroyeri (Brady,1883) cited in Malta in Giesbrecht (1892, p. 776) requires confirmation in the Mediterranean. Amallothrix pseudoarcuata (Park,1970) reported in the E Mediterranean would be a synonym of Amallothrix arcuata. Scaphocalanus similis Hure and Scotto di Carlo,1968 and S. subcurtus Park,1970 are regarded as synonymous with S. curtus (Farran,1926). Scolecithricella denticulata Tanaka,1962 is noted by mistake in the Mediterranean in Razouls and Durand (1991, p.76); Scolecithrix dubia Giesbrecht,1892 would be synonymous with Scolecithricella dentata (Giesbrecht,1892). Spinocalanus caudatus Sars,1920 would be synonymous with Spinocalanus oligospinosus Park,1970; S. paraoligospinosus Hure and Scotto di Carlo,1971 and S. neospinosus Grice,1971 are juniors synonyms from the previous one. Mimocalanus heronae Damkaer,1975 was mistakenly reported in West Mediterranean by confusion with Mimocalanus brodskyi Razouls,1974. Pontella inermis Brady,1883, reported in East Mediterranean (in Greze and Shmeleva, 1982) is a doubtful form. Corycaeus obtusus Dana,1849 may be confused with C. catus, C. ovalis et C. pacificus. Similarly, Oncaea obscura Farran,1908; Oncaea neobscura Razouls,1969 and Oncaea paraobscura Shmeleva,1979 were considered by Malt (1982) as juvenile forms unattributable to a particular species.

Scaphocalanus amplius Park,1970 and S. invalidus Hure and Scotto di Carlo,1968 are considered, with doubt, as being synonymous. They were kept in the table.


2 - The distinction between the two species (or subspecies) Eucalanus hyalinus and Eucalanus elongatus is difficult (and most often unspecified) and requires a review of these two forms. Otherwise Goetze & Bradford-Grieve (2005) distinguish Eucalanus spinifer T. Scott,1894 from E. hyalinus, sympatric twin species. The reports of Eucalanus attenuatus (= Pareucalanus attenuatus ) in the Mediterranean and Adriatic are questionable since the presence without doubt of P. sewelli of which it is different from the previous slightly, notably the shape of the head (cf. in Bradford-Grieve, 1994: fig.44: B). P. attenuatus (Dana,1849) is Indo-Pacific and et P. parki (Fleminger,1973) Pacific.

Valdiviella insignis reported to Gibraltar (in Rose, 1933), Banyuls (juvenile form in Razouls, 1972) and Tyrrhenian Sea (as sp . in Vives, 1967), bathypelagic form may have been confused with V. minor Wolfenden,1911 or V. oligarthra Steuer,1904.

Parauchaeta tonsa (Giesbrecht,1895) is difficult to distinguish from P. pseudotonsa (Fontaine,1967) whence the difficulties of ascertaining their geographical distribution. Park (1994, p.322, 326, 328) considers that the first is Indo-Pacific and the second sub-Antarctic and Atlantic. However, Vives (1982, p.291) and Lapernat (2000) report P. tonsa in the Canary region. The authors who identified this species in the Mediterranean were unaware of the description of Fontaine (1967). We did not retain this species, but a doubt remains over its presence in the Atlantic.

Paracalanus pygmaeus reported in the Alboran Sea, in the Ionian Sea and in Cyprus (Kovalev et Shmeleva, 1982) is probably P. denudatus rather than Parvocalanus scotti (East Africa: Namibia-G. of Guinea)

A doubt remains over the possible synonymy between Sapphirina opalina Dana,1849 and Sapphirina darwini Haeckel,1864; both forms being reported in the Mediterranean.


3 - Species requiring confirmation:

Candacia norvegica reported with doubt in the Liguro-Provencal Chenal (in Mazza,1966) is rare, but possible by the Atlantic current action because of its presence in the Ibero-Moroccan area (Vives, 1982).

Centropages calaninus, mainly Indo-Pacific form, present in the Red Sea (in Cleve, 1904) if it is confirmed in the Mediterranean.

Lucicutia lucida Farran,1908, identified from documents of Sars (1925) et de Rose (1933) should be considered as L. pera A. Scott,1909. Lucicutia lucida Farran,1908 identified in the Mediterranean (Algiers, W Central part) and often based on Sars (1924-25) and Rose (1933) is questionable. Pancucci-Papadopoulou & al. (1990) report this species in the Levant Sea. A confusion is possible between this form and Lucicutia pera A. Scott,1909. A doubt remains over the presence or absence of the two species in the Mediterranean.

Lucicutia grandis, identified in the Tyrrhenian Sea (Vaissière & Séguin, 1980, p.23) is however questionable because of the confused synonymy, and it is very difficult to establish the geographical distribution of this species.

Pontellina elegans (Claus,1892) cited in the Adriatic (as Pontella elegans in Giesbrecht & Schmeil, 1898, p.144), unreported since its descriptor.

Scaphocalanus invalidus known in West and East Mediterranean, as in the Adriatic is considered by some as a synonym for S. amplius Park, 1970 by Greze & Shmeleva (1982, p.84)

Scolecithricella profunda and S. abyssalis may be confused, whence uncertain geographical distributions, the two forms appearing sympatric. For Vervoort (1965, p.80) the two species could be synonymous.

Spinocalanus caudatus identified south of Majorca (in Rose, 1933, p.86) and in the Adriatic (in Kovalev & Shmeleva, 1982, p.83) is not retained by Hure & Krsinic (1998). This species has been considered without certainty, as synonymous with S. oligospinosus .

Spinocalanus heterocaudatus Rose, 1937 (female) of the bay of Algiers, is synonymous with S. magnus . The male of S. heterocaudatus later described (Rose, 1942, p.315) has still not been assigned.

According Lehnhofer (1929), followed by many authors, S. auronitens et S. sinuicauda would be a single species with miscellaneous variations (S. pyrosomatis and S. vorax of which). This position is different from Giesbrecht (1892) and some authors.

Similarly S. darwini as variant of S. opalina , and S. gemma as a variation of S. ovatolanceolata. No study of these forms has been considered since the one of Crisafi & Mazza (1966, p.561 and following).

The revision of Clytemnestridae by Huys & Conroy-Dalton (2000) call into question the presence of C. scutellata and C. rostrata (= Goniopsyllus rostratus ) in the Mediterranean. These might have been confused: Goniopsyllus clausi (nov. sp.) and Clytemnestra gracilis (this one confused with C. scutellata ).


4 - Exchanges through the Strait of Gibraltar:

The main exchanges between the temperate and subtropical Atlantic and the Mediterranean is carried out by the surface and deep currents at the threshold of Gibraltar (Lacombe, 1971). The data about pelagic copepods, jointly concerning the Ibero-Moroccan Bay and the Alboran Sea, are due to Giron (1963), Giron-Reguer (1963), Vives (1975), Kovalev and Shmeleva (1982), Greze et al. (1985). The SW Morocco-Portugal Atlantic region has been prospected by Lysholm and Nordgaard (1921), Vives (1970, 1972, 1982). The influence of the Atlantic surface current can be followed by various "biological indicators" (Allain, 1966, Mazza, 1967). Linked to the particular content of salinities and in oxygen, only few forms of copepods seem good "plotters" compared to other pelagic groups such as Chaetognaths, pelagic molluscs and Cladocers. The origin of at least 73% of Mediterranean fauna being Atlantic the choice of these is difficult. Temora longicornis is the most characteristic example which acclimatization is less easy than Temora stylifera. Subeucalanus monachus, Pseudocalanus elongatus, Augaptilus megalurus, Centropages bradyi, C. chierchiae, Pleuromamma xiphias, Anomalocera patersoni, Pontella atlantica and Pontellopsis regalis would constitute other indicators. These last three epipelagic species easily penetrate into the eastern basin. Subeucalanus subtenuis noted by Mazza (1967) as related to the Atlantic current is also noticed off Malta by Lapernat (1999) in depth (2000 m). As Mazza notes (1967) some of above copepods are below the Atlantic water, even under the east intermediate current, to find temperatures more in conformity with their original environment. The presence of perennial species in the west southern basin is in favour of their continuous renewal from the Atlantic, likewise their presence during autumn-winter colder periods (Mazza, 1967, p.329).


5 - Adriatic:

Hure and Krsinic (1998) identify 144 species on the whole of the Adriatic Sea, Hajdëri (1998) in the southern part (Coastal Bari) notes the presence of 93 species.

For the total work done from the beginning in this sea, 286 species are counted, of which 181 Calanoida and 105 species species of other orders. On this total 248 species are common to both basins (154 Calanoida and 94 of other orders); 23 are common only with the western basin (16 Calanoida and 7 of other orders) and 8 only with the east basin (5 Calanoida and 3 of other orders).


6 -Beyond the threshold siculo-Tunisian, the eastern basin has 377 species including 242 Calanoida and 135 of other orders. The two West and East basins have in common 314 species of which 194 Calanoida and 120 of other orders. The Ionian Sea is the least prospected (cf. in Kovalev and Shmeleva, 1982), unless one considers that the south part (the deepest) of the Adriatic must present a common fauna. Vaissière and Séguin (1980) have compared the communities between the Ionian and Tyrrhenian Sea. Apostolopoulou (1972) explores the quantitative distribution of species on the whole of the Aegean Sea. Sioukou-Frangou et al. (1997) have analyzed assemblages of species between Sicily and Cyprus. Kimor and Berdugo (1967), Kimor and Wood (1975) have prospected all Levantine Basin to the west of Crete. La distribution des espèces au nord du basin Levantin et en Mer Egée est connue par les travaux de Pancucci-Papadopoulou et al. The distribution of species in northern Levantine basin and in Aegean Sea is known by the works of Pancucci-Papadopoulou et al. (1992). Data on the Aegean Sea and the Gulf of Saronikos give us as much information on the diversity of species (113 species) for the eastern basin (Siokou-Frangou, 1999). Uysal et al. (2002) have compiled an inventory of species in the N Levantine basin (68 species). Lakkis (1971, 1973, 1976, 1984, 1990) provides an exhaustive list of species of the Lebanese coast (99 species). El-Maghraby (1965) lists 74 species on the coasts of Egypt.

Diverse authors have suggested a transport East Basin to the West Basin by the intermediate current. Monacilla typica was considered as an indicator of this mechanism (Mazza, 1967; Casanova, 1970), however, the general distribution of this species in the Atlantic is not in favor of this thesis.


7 - The "Lessepsian" process:

Por (1969, 1971) creates the term "Lessepsian migration" in the case of species of the Red Sea and/or the west Indo-Pacific going through the Suez Canal to the eastern Mediterranean, a phenomenon that appears almost essentially unidirectional, resulting digging of the canal in 1869.

For this author, only organisms able to survive for a relatively long period and give several generations can meet the conditions of "lessepsian species", with the exception of vagile forms like crustaceans and fish, the latter having even reached the Tunisian coast (Ben Souissi & al., 2004) and the north-east coast of Sicily (Catalano & Zava, 1993).

None comprehensive survey on pelagic copepods has been done in the canal and lakes it uses, except data of Gurney (1927), the expedition of Thompson and Scott (1903) and more recent data of El-Serehy & al. (2001).

As rightly underlined by Por (1978, p.87), the criteria allowing to affirm that the migration of species from the Red Sea to the Mediterranean, and vice versa ("Anti-Lessepsian migration") require a good knowledge of biogeography these forms.

Unfortunately, in the case of pelagic copepods, data on the eastern Mediterranean are relatively recent (coasts of Egypt, Israel, Lebanon, Turkey and Aegean Sea), and even rarer in the case of the Red Sea. With the exception of works of Weikert (1982 a), Weikert & Koppelmann (1993), Weikert & Trinkaus (1990), Weikert & al. (2001); and Böttger-Schnack (1988, 1990 (91), 1990 a, 1990 b, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999-2003, 2005).

Many works are devoted to the role of diet on the life of copepods, but too little about the joint action of salt and thermal factors (limits of survival, reproduction and growth). These eco-physiological barriers take in the case of this type of dispersion essential importance that is sorely lacking, given the high salinity and temperature changes along the 170 km of the Canal. Katona (1969) on Eurytemora affinis and E. herdmani, as well as Bernard (1970) on Temora stylifera, have shown the limits of tolerance of these forms.

Knowledge of west Indo-Pacific species has considerably increased since the first test of biogeographic synthesis realized by Sewell (1948).

Data for each of 2587 identified species so far in all seas can nevertheless assume, for some of them, such migration through the Suez Canal, what Por defines (1978, p.91) as high probability ("HPLM").

Representatives of various taxa meet the criteria for such migration, at which following pelagic copepods can be added: Euchaeta concinna (Casanova, 1973); Calanopia elliptica, C. media (Berdugo, 1968), C. minor, Labidocera madurae, L. pavo, Acartia centrura, A. fossae (Lakkis, 1976), Candacia catula, Centropages calaninus, C. elongatus, Acrocalanus monachus, Parvocalanus elegans, P. latus. A doubt remains about Euchaeta paracuta.

Conversely, Centropages ponticus (indigenous to the East Mediterranean basin and the Black Sea) would be an example of an "antilesseptian" form that had penetrated into the Red Sea, transfer which appears more difficult to realize for Mediterranean species because of hydrologic conditions encountered.
   

 Any use of this site for a publication will be mentioned with the following reference :

Razouls C., de Bovée F., Kouwenberg J. et Desreumaux N., 2005-2017. - Diversity and Geographic Distribution of Marine Planktonic Copepods. Available at http://copepodes.obs-banyuls.fr/en 
[Accessed September 24, 2017]

© copyright 2005-2017 CNRS, UPMC

Webmaster
Imprimer Contact Accueil Plan du site Accès restreint Retour
CNRS   Observatoire Océanologique de Banyuls sur Mer - Laboratoire Arago
UPMC - Paris Universitas

 

Version française
English version

 

Search

On the WEB of CNRS


Marine Planktonic Copepods

Marine Planktonic Copepods

 

Une du Labo Imprimer Contact Plan du site Crédits Téléchargez les Plug-Ins

Distribution géographique des copépodes pélagiques en Méditerranée > Remarques
 
   


 

Remarques :

1 - Diverses espèces signalées en Méditerranée n'ont pas été prises en compte et nécessitent confirmation: Acartia (Odontacartia) laxa Dana,1849 (forme très douteuse) signalée à Malte. Pseudocalanus minutus (Kröyer,1845), forme des eaux arctiques et subarctiques boréales des océans Atlantique et Pacifique, signalée par Salah (1971, p.319) à Alexandrie. Aetideus mediterraneus Steuer, 1910 décrite de l'Adriatique (Dubrovnik) est considérée comme un synonyme de Aetideus giesbrechti (Hure et Krsinic,1998, p.46). Calanus finmarchicus signalé par Sars (1925, p.369) en Tyrrhénienne, par Rose (1929, p.6), puis en Mer Catalane (Furnestin et Giron-Reguer, 1961; Furnestin et Giron, 1963), comme dans le Golfe du Lion (Furnestin, 1960), confirmé par la suite comme exceptionnel dans le bassin sud-occidental (Soenen, 1969). De même, et plus étonnant, est la signalisation de Calanus propinquus à Malte par Thompson.(1888d, p.139). Gaidius pungens Giesbrecht,1895 recensée par erreur en Méditerranée in Razouls et Durand, 1991. Centropages aucklandicus Krämer,1895, souvent citée en Méditerranée, ne serait qu'un variant de C. typicus et la forme décrite à l'origine par Krämer serait endémique à la Nouvelle-Zélande (in Bradford, 1978). Lucicutia grandis (Giesbrecht,1895) signalé en Mer Tyrrhénienne (in Kovalev et Shmeleva, 1982) n'est pas retenue du fait des confusions possibles.

Labidocera kroyeri (Brady,1883) citée à Malte in Giesbrecht (1892, p.776) nécessite confirmation en Méditerranée. Amallothrix pseudoarcuata (Park,1970) signalé en Méditerranée E serait synonyme de Amallothrix arcuata. Scaphocalanus similis Hure et Scotto di Carlo,1968 et S. subcurtus Park,1970 sont considérées comme des synonymes de S. curtus (Farran,1926). Scolecithricella denticulata Tanaka,1962 est notée par erreur en Méditerranée in Razouls et Durand (1991, p.76); Scolecithrix dubia Giesbrecht,1892 serait synonyme de Scolecithricella dentata (Giesbrecht,1892). Spinocalanus caudatus Sars,1920 serait synonyme de Spinocalanus oligospinosus Park,1970; S. paraoligospinosus Hure et Scotto di Carlo,1971 et S. neospinosus Grice,1971 sont des synonymes juniors de la précédente. Mimocalanus heronae Damkaer,1975 est par erreur signalée en Méditerranée W par confusion avec Mimocalanus brodskyi Razouls,1974. Pontella inermis Brady,1883, signalée en Méditerranée Est (in Greze et Shmeleva, 1982) est une forme douteuse. Corycaeus obtusus Dana,1849 peut être confondue avec C. catus, C. ovalis et C. pacificus. De même, Oncaea obscura Farran,1908; Oncaea neobscura Razouls,1969 et Oncaea paraobscura Shmeleva,1979 ont été considérées par Malt (1982) comme des formes juvéniles non attribuables à une espèce déterminée.

Scaphocalanus amplius Park,1970 et S. invalidus Hure et Scotto di Carlo,1968 sont considérées, avec doute, comme pouvant être synonymes. Elles ont été maintenues dans le tableau.


2 - La distinction entre les deux espèces (ou sous-espèces) Eucalanus hyalinus et Eucalanus elongatus est difficile (et le plus souvent non précisée) et nécessite un examen de ces deux formes. Par ailleurs Goetze & Bradford-Grieve (2005) distinguent Eucalanus spinifer T. Scott,1894 de E. hyalinus, espèces jumelles sympatriques. Les signalisations de Eucalanus attenuatus (= Pareucalanus attenuatus ) en Méditerranée et en Adriatique sont contestables depuis la présence sans conteste de P. sewelli dont elle ne diffère de la précédente que légèrement, notamment la forme de la tête (cf. in Bradford-Grieve, 1994: fig.44: B). P. attenuatus (Dana,1849) est Indo-Pacifique et P. parki (Fleminger,1973) du Pacifique.

Valdiviella insignis signalée à Gibraltar (in Rose, 1933), Banyuls (forme juvénile in Razouls, 1972) et en Mer Tyrrhénienne (comme sp . in Vives, 1967), forme bathypélagique, peut avoir été confondue avec V. minor Wolfenden,1911 ou V. oligarthra Steuer,1904.

Parauchaeta tonsa (Giesbrecht,1895) est difficile à distinguer de P. pseudotonsa (Fontaine,1967) d'où les difficultés d'établir avec certitude leur répartition géographique. Park (1994, p.322, 326, 328) estime que la première est Indo-Pacifique et la seconde sub-Antarctique et de l'Atlantique. Cependant, Vives (1982, p.291) et Lapernat (2000) signalent P. tonsa dans la région des Canaries. Les auteurs qui ont identifié cette espèce en Méditerranée n'avaient pas connaissance de la description de Fontaine (1967). Nous n'avons pas retenu cette espèce, mais un doute subsiste sur sa présence en Atlantique.

Paracalanus pygmaeus signalée en mer d'Alboran, en mer Ionienne et à Chypre (Kovalev et Shmeleva, 1982) est probablement P. denudatus plutôt que Parvocalanus scotti (Afrique de l'Est: Namibie-G. de Guinée)

Un doute subsiste sur la synonymie possible entre Sapphirina opalina Dana,1849 et Sapphirina darwini Haeckel,1864; ces deux formes étant signalées en Méditerranée.


3 - Espèces nécessitant confirmation:

Candacia norvegica signalée dans le Chenal Liguro-provençal avec doute (in Mazza,1966) est rare, mais possible par l'action du courant atlantique du fait de sa présence dans la zone ibéro-marocaine (Vives, 1982).

Centropages calaninus, forme essentiellement Indo-Pacifique, présente en Mer Rouge (in Cleve, 1904) si elle est confirmée en Méditerranée.

Lucicutia lucida Farran,1908, identifiée à partir des documents de Sars (1925) et de Rose (1933) doit être considérée comme L. pera A. Scott,1909. Lucicutia lucida Farran,1908 identifiée en Méditerranée (Alger, partie centrale W) et souvent fondée sur Sars (1924-25) et Rose (1933) est discutable. Pancucci-Papadopoulou & al. (1990) signalent cette espèce en mer Levantine. Une confusion est possible entre cette forme et Lucicutia pera A. Scott,1909. Un doute subsiste sur la présence ou non des deux espèces en Méditerranée.

Lucicutia grandis, identifiée en mer Tyrrhénienne (Vaissière & Séguin, 1980, p.23) est cependant discutable du fait de la synonymie confuse, et il est très difficile d'établir la répartition géographique de cette espèce.

Pontellina elegans (Claus,1892) citée de l'Adriatique (comme Pontella elegans in Giesbrecht & Schmeil, 1898, p.144), non signalée depuis son descripteur.

Scaphocalanus invalidus connue en Méditerranée Ouest et Est, comme en Adriatique est considérée par certains comme un synonyme de S. amplius Park, 1970 par Greze & Shmeleva (1982, p.84)

Scolecithricella profunda et S. abyssalis peuvent être confondues, d'où des distributions géographiques incertaines, les deux formes paraissant sympatriques. Pour Vervoort (1965, p.80) les deux espèces pourraient être synonymes.

Spinocalanus caudatus identifiée au sud de Majorque (in Rose, 1933, p.86) et en Adriatique (in Kovalev & Shmeleva, 1982, p.83) n'est pas retenue par Hure & Krsinic (1998). Cette espèce a été considérée, sans certitude, comme synonyme de S. oligospinosus .

Spinocalanus heterocaudatus Rose, 1937 (femelle) de la baie d'Alger, est synonyme de S. magnus . Le mâle de S. heterocaudatus décrit ultérieurement (Rose, 1942 a, p.315) n'est toujours pas attribué.

Selon Lehnhofer (1929), suivi par de nombreux auteurs, S. auronitens et S. sinuicauda ne seraient qu'une seule espèce présentant diverses variations (dont S. pyrosomatis et S. vorax ). Cette position est différente de celle de Giesbrecht (1892) et de certains auteurs.

De même S. darwini comme variant de S. opalina , et S. gemma comme une variation de S. ovatolanceolata. Aucune étude de ces formes n'a été envisagé depuis celle de Crisafi & Mazza (1966, p.561 et suiv.).

La révision des Clytemnestridae par Huys & Conroy-Dalton (2000) remettent en cause les présences de C. scutellata et C. rostrata (= Goniopsyllus rostratus ) en Méditerranée. Celles-ci ayant pu être confondues: Goniopsyllus clausi (nov. sp.) et Clytemnestra gracilis (celle-ci confondue avec C. scutellata ).


4 - Les échanges par le détroit de Gibraltar:


Chart of the Strait of GibraltarChart of the Strait of Gibraltar with depth contours in meters, based on Defense Mapping Agency (1980) chart No. 52041. Areas deeper than 400 m are shaded.
Overlay. Location of essential topographic features, moorings, transects (solid lines between stars) and way-points (in nautical miles) for the runs.
Issue de : Miller C.B. & Clemons M.J., 1988. - Revised life history analysis for large grazing copepods in the subarctic Pacific Ocean. Progress in Oceanography, 20 (4). [p.41, Fig.2.1].

L'essentiel des échanges entre l'Atlantique subtropicale et tempérée et la Méditerranée est réalisée par les courants superficiels et profonds au niveau du seuil de Gibraltar (Lacombe, 1971). Les données du point des copépodes pélagiques, concernant conjointement la Baie Ibero-marocaine et la Mer d'Alboran, sont dues à Giron (1963) , Giron-Reguer (1963), Vives (1975), Kovalev et Shmeleva (1982), Greze et al. (1985). La région atlantique Maroc-Portugal SW a été prospecté par Lysholm et Nordgaard (1921), Vives (1970, 1972, 1982). L'influence du courant superficiel atlantique peut être suivie par divers "indicateurs biologiques" (Allain, 1966, Mazza, 1967). Lié à la teneur particulière des salinités et en oxygène, seules peu de formes de copépodes semblent de bons "traceurs" comparativement à d'autres groupes pélagiques comme les Chaetognathes, des Mollusques pélagiques et des Cladocères. L'origine d'au moins 73 % de la faune méditerranéenne étant d'origine atlantique le choix de ceux-ci s'avère difficile. Temora longicornis constitue l'exemple le plus caractéristique dont l'acclimatation est moins aisée que Temora stylifera. Subeucalanus monachus, Pseudocalanus elongatus, Augaptilus megalurus, Centropages bradyi, C. chierchiae, Pleuromamma xiphias, Anomalocera patersoni, Pontella atlantica et Pontellopsis regalis constitueraient d'autres indicateurs. Ces trois dernières espèces épipélagiques pénètrent aisément jusque dans le bassin oriental. Subeucalanus subtenuis notée par Mazza (1967) comme liée au courant atlantique est également observée off Malte par Lapernat (1999) en profondeur (2000 m). Comme le remarque Mazza (1967) certains des copépodes précités se trouvent au-dessous de la nappe atlantique, voire sous le courant intermédiaire d'est, afin de trouver des températures plus conformes à leur milieu d'origine. La présence d'espèces pérennes dans le bassin méridional ouest est en faveur de leur renouvellement permanent en provenance de l'atlantique, de même que leur présence lors des périodes plus froides automno-hivernales (Mazza, 1967, p.329).


5 - l'Adriatique:

Hure et Krsinic (1998) recensent 144 espèces sur l'ensemble de la Mer Adriatique, Hajdëri (1998) dans la partie méridionale (littoral de Bari) note la présence de 93 espèces.

Pour le total des travaux réalisés depuis les origines dans cette mer, 293 espèces y sont dénombrées, dont 181 Calanoida et 112 espèces des autres ordres. Sur ce total 249 espèces sont communes aux deux bassins (154 Calanoida et 95 des autres ordres); 24 ne sont communes qu'avec le bassin ouest (16 Calanoida et 8 des autres ordres) et 8 qu'avec le bassin est (5 Calanoida et 3 des autres ordres).


6 - Au delà du seuil siculo-tunisien, le bassin oriental comporte 378 espèces dont 242 Calanoida et 136 des autres ordres. Les deux bassins Ouest et Est ont en commun 315 espèces dont 194 Calanoida et 121 des autres ordres. La Mer Ionienne est la moins prospectée (cf. in Kovalev et Shmeleva, 1982), sauf si l'on considère que la partie sud (la plus profonde ) de l'Adriatique doit présenter une faune commune. Vaissière et Séguin (1980) ont comparé les peuplements entre la mer Tyrrhénienne et Ionienne. Apostolopoulou (1972) étudie la répartition quantitative des espèces dans l'ensemble de la Mer Egée. Sioukou-Frangou et al. (1997) ont analysé des assemblages d'espèces entre la Sicile et Chypre. Kimor et Berdugo (1967), Kimor et Wood (1975) ont prospecté l'ensemble du bassin Levantin jusqu'à l'ouest de la Crète. La distribution des espèces au nord du basin Levantin et en Mer Egée est connue par les travaux de Pancucci-Papadopoulou et al. (1992). Les données sur la mer Egée et le Golfe de Saronique nous donnent le plus d'informations sur la diversité des espèces (113 espèces) pour le bassin oriental (Siokou-Frangou, 1999). Uysal et al. (2002) ont dressé un inventaire des espèces du bassin Levantin N (68 espèces). Lakkis (1971, 1973, 1976, 1984, 1990) dresse une liste exhaustive des espèces de la côte libanaise (99 espèces). El-Maghraby (1965) recense 74 espèces sur les côtes d'Egypte.

Divers auteurs ont suggéré un transport du bassin Est vers le bassin Ouest par le courant intermédiaire. Monacilla typica a été considéré comme un indicateur de ce mécanisme (Mazza, 1967; Casanova, 1970), cependant la distribution générale de cette espèce dans l'Atlantique n'est pas en faveur de cette thèse.


7 - Le processus "Lessepsien":

Por (1969, 1971) crée le terme de "Lessepsian migration" dans le cas des espèces de la Mer Rouge et/ou de l'Indo- Pacifique ouest passant par le Canal de Suez vers la Méditerranée orientale, phénomène qui apparaît presque essentiellement unidirectionnel résultant du percement du canal en 1869.

Pour cet auteur, seuls les organismes capables de survivre pour une période relativement longue et de donner plusieurs générations peuvent remplir les conditions "d'espèces lessepsiennes", à l'exception de formes plus vagiles comme des Crustacés et des poissons, ces derniers ayant même atteint les côtes tunisiennes (Ben Souissi & al., 2004) et la côte nord-est de la Sicile (Catalano & Zava, 1993).

Aucune étude d'ensemble concernant les copépodes pélagiques n'a été réalisée dans le canal et les lacs qu'il utilise, hormis les données de Gurney (1927), l'expédition de Thompson et Scott (1903) et les données plus récentes de El-Serehy & al. (2001).

Comme le souligne très justement Por (1978, p.87), les critères permettant d'affirmer la migration d'espèces de la mer Rouge vers la Méditerranée, et inversement ("Anti-Lessepsian migration") nécessitent une bonne connaissance de la biogéographie de ces formes.

Malheureusement, dans le cas des copépodes pélagiques, les données concernant la partie orientale de la Méditerranée sont relativement récentes (côtes égyptiennes, israéliennes, libanaises, turques, Mer Égée), et encore plus rares dans le cas de la Mer Rouge. A l'exception des travaux de Weikert (1982 a), Weikert & Koppelmann (1993), Weikert & Trinkaus (1990), Weikert & al. (2001); et de Böttger-Schnack (1988, 1990 (91), 1990 a, 1990 b, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999-2003, 2005).

De nombreux travaux sont consacrés au rôle de l'alimentation sur la vie des copépodes, mais trop peu sur l'action conjointe des facteurs salin et thermique (limites de survie, reproduction et croissance). Ces barrières éco-physiologiques prennent dans le cas de ce type de dispersion une importance essentielle qui fait cruellement défaut, compte tenu des fortes salinité et variations de la température durant les 170 km du Canal. Katona (1969) sur Eurytemora affinis et E. herdmani, ainsi que Bernard (1970) sur Temora stylifera, ont montré les limites de tolérance de ces formes.

La connaissance des espèces Indo-Pacifique ouest s'est considérablement accrue depuis le premier essai de synthèse biogéographique établi par Sewell (1948).

Les données concernant chacune des 2587 espèces recensées à ce jour dans l'ensemble des mers permettent néanmoins de supposer, pour certaines d'entre-elles, de telles migrations à travers le Canal de Suez, ce que Por définit (1978, p.91) comme de forte probabilité ("HPLM").

Des représentants des divers taxons remplissent les critères d'une telle migration, auxquels les copépodes pélagiques suivants peuvent y être ajoutés: Euchaeta concinna (Casanova, 1973); Calanopia elliptica, C. media (Berdugo, 1968), C. minor, Labidocera madurae, L. pavo, Acartia centrura, A. fossae (Lakkis, 1976), Candacia catula, Centropages calaninus, C. elongatus, Acrocalanus monachus, Parvocalanus elegans, P. latus. Un doute subsiste concernant Euchaeta paracuta.

Inversement, Centropages ponticus (originaire du bassin Est méditerranéen et de la mer Noire) serait un exemple de forme "antilesseptienne" ayant pénétré en Mer Rouge, transfert qui apparaît plus difficile à réaliser pour les espèces méditerranéennes du fait des conditions hydrologiques rencontrées.
   

 Toute utilisation de ce site pour une publication sera mentionnée avec la référence suivante :

Razouls C., de Bovée F., Kouwenberg J. et Desreumaux N., 2005-2017. - Diversité et répartition géographique chez les Copépodes planctoniques marins. Disponible sur http://copepodes.obs-banyuls.fr 
[Accédé le 22 novembre 2017]

© copyright 2005-2017 CNRS, UPMC

Webmaster
Mentions légales et informations nominatives
Imprimer Contact Accueil Plan du site Accès restreint Retour
CNRS   Observatoire Océanologique de Banyuls sur Mer - Laboratoire Arago
UPMC - Paris Universitas

 

Version française
English version

 

Rechercher

Sur le WEB du CNRS


Copépodes planctoniques marins

Copépodes planctoniques marins

 

Une du Labo Imprimer Contact Plan du site Crédits Téléchargez les Plug-Ins